ECOTONES: the art!

The last six or so months of my life have been largely entangled with what’s certainly going to be my major project for 2015: SFFWorld.com‘s fourth annual anthology, ECOTONES, of which I am proud to be both editor and one of the fourteen story contributors.

However, in the interests of keeping our costs as low as possible, I’m also handling numerous other minor tasks… like creating the cover art. And here it is:

I’m really happy with how it came out, especially given the prehistoric nature of my computer, and the scratched and dusty copy of Photoshop I just about manage to get working on it. Including covers I’ve designed for other writers I’m into double-figures now, and I’m getting better with each one — certainly I’m learning new things all the time.

I’m less than a week away from launching my first ever Kickstarter campaign too, also on behalf of this project. It’s a surprisingly easy system to use, but the devil is in the details, of course — most devilish of all being the high recommended inclusion of a promotional video. So, as you might guess, I’ve been working on making one of those as well.

As of yesterday, that video is finished and the campaign has been given the green light by Kickstarter’s evaluation team. All that’s left for me to do is press the big green button marked…

 GO

next Tuesday!

5 thoughts on “ECOTONES: the art!

  1. Hey Andrew, I like the new look of your blog 🙂

    I also like the cover. It’s essential, but very effective. I like the strong colours and the contrast.

    And a Kickstarter campaign! I’m working to one, not fo rme, but for the publisher I work for. It’s exciting and maddening at the same time.
    Let me know how yours go. Any tips to share? 😉

    • Thanks, JF! I’ll certainly write about my experiences with the campaign – in fact, I’m participating in an online discussion panel at SFFWorld.com’s forum about Kickstarters on November 10th, so you might want to check that out. I think it’s possible to lurk and see the discussion thread, but if you wanted to interact you’d need to be a member of the forum.

      I’ll be talking about my first attempt at setting up a campaign and its early progress (it will have been live for just a week), but there’s going to be two much more experienced voices there in Gail Z. Martin and Russell Nohelty, so you might get more from them.

Leave a Reply

