Flash: sweet…

by Andrew Leon Hudson

I have great plans for 2014 and it seems they’ve started without me. I’ve been selected as a finalist in a “Flash Suite” contest being held by the certainly unique online magazine Defenestrationism – so named in celebration of “the act of throwing someone or something out of a window”. In this case, stories. And maybe their authors.

The contest is simple. Each finalist submitted a suite of at least three connected flash stories, each part no more than 1000 words long. These are being published on the site (one per day since December 9th) until all the suites are completed. I expect my entries will start appearing in the first week of January as I was the last finalist selected, so expect another post here when they show. When they’re all up reader voting can begin.

The winners will be announced on January 19th and there are modest cash prizes for first and second place, although naturally we’re all really in it for the art… Of course, I wouldn’t want mere charity votes from my friends and loved ones (non-overlapping magisteria?) but there’s sure to be some interesting, bite-sized fiction over the festive season. And since you’re probably already paying for your internet service, it’s all effectively free!

I’ve read the pieces posted so far and the standard of competition looks good. For now all you can see of me there is an author bio alongside my now hated rivals on the Meet the Finalists page, but at least people who used to know me can find out what I look like these days (the consensus of babies and small animals seems to be scary and/or interesting).

So, not really a consensus at all. That’s the kind of linguistic precision you can expect from me in the future.

